Monthly Editorial – September 2009

I can still remember sitting up in my seat at my local movie theater, transfixed at the sight of brilliant Japanese animation at work when the first five minutes of “Spirited Away” just passed like a beautiful dream. Same thing happened when I went to see “Howl’s Moving Castle” too as I, once again, sat up in my seat lost in the story.

Guess what, this happened again this weekend when I went to see “Ponyo,” yet another release from master animator Hayao Miyazaki. If you haven’t already seen it you will be – half way through this movie – want to see it again. Well, that’s how it was with me anyway.

Since we’re talking Japanese animation, I began thinking of anime I wish was coming to our side of the pond. The one on the top of my list as well as Clive Owen’s is Rosario + Vampire. We hope that VIZ Media would acquire the rights to bringing the anime series based on the popular manga right here. Imagine seeing Moka and Kurumu in color looking just as good as in the manga. We don’t just want the first season but we want the second one too.

Another anime series we would love to see is brought over here is One-Pound Gospel by the creator of InuYasha. So far, Ai Kano has shown us her incomplete collection on VHS and we love every second of it. How about a DVD release of the Complete Collection? This is definitely a series that deserves that kind of attention seeing as VIZ Media has re-released the manga in a four-volume deal.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to the second Bleach Movie (review coming up very soon) as well as the Eureka Seven movie. If you haven’t already, I still recommend Ponyo.

– Edward Zacharias

One thought on “Monthly Editorial – September 2009

  1. Pingback: Cartoon and Manga articles news. » Archive » Monthly Editorial – September 2009

Leave a Reply

