Monthly Editorial – January 2010

My name is Ai Kano and I am an addict.

I admit it freely and proudly and I say it often to those who ask me why I don’t put down that manga or why oh why do I have a shopping bag filled with anime. I’m addicted to manga and anime but that just makes me the choice candidate to work here with anime/manga junkies just like me. This is certainly my dream job and I have to say that I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.

Now that I got that out of the way, I’ll get on to why I was given the opportunity to write this editorial when it’s the Big Boss and his second in command, Beautiful Boss (Faith made me say that) usually writes these monthly editorials. You see, I just had to say my thing about this year, 2010, is the year we fellow addicts will remember fondly. This is the year we should say it loud and say it proud … we love manga and we love anime.

The reason is simple: there are a number of great new releases coming up across different companies whether it’s FUNimation Entertainment, VIZ Media, Bandai, Nozomi/RightStuf or CMX or even Del Rey Manga. Sure, last year was nothing short of amazing in terms of manga or anime but this year is certainly looking like it will be truly spectacular.

I should say that I’m happy with the releases of manga that are really so out of the norm that they’re like picking up an impressive indie comic. Titles such as Children of the Sea or not simple or even It’s A Wonderful World are like the first warm breath of Spring air after a long and cold winter. Our good friends at Comic Revolution are also salivating at the numerous offerings we enjoy as well so that’s saying a lot right there.

The anime front is going to be impressive as well with some major releases coming our way like Soul Eater or the Eureka Seven movie. And did the recent Dragon Ball releases knock your socks off not too long ago? There’s a lot more as far as anime is concerned and we will be happy to bring you more news and reviews as well.

It’s not often that I get a chance to say thank you for having been with us in 2009. We were happy to get e-mails from so many of our readers including an anime club from Madrid, Spain who is so dying to meet us this year during AX 2010 or even this year’s San Diego Comic-Con. So thank you all so very much and we will do our best in 2010.

Ai Kano

Leave a Reply

